A heart more completely God’s

Jer. 31:33
“But this is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after those days declares the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God and they shall be my people.”

Pastor Grant’s sermons about spiritual DNA have hit close to home for me. They’ve been a good reminder of what it means to live in Christ. One of the things he asked us to consider was how God has wired each of us individually to “live from the heart.” In other words, how is each of us wired to live most fully in Christ?

I don’t ask you to consider this so you can add to your Christian “to do” list. We all have those lists, if only in our minds – lists of the things we “ought” to do because that’s what good Christians do (door-to-door evangelism, for instance, or teaching a children’s Sunday School class). What I’m talking about becoming who we’re meant to be in Christ. Each of us has been given a specific set of gifts, talents and passions that, when used for Christ, bring us joy and satisfaction. We are becoming who God meant for us to be.

There’s a wonderful song that expresses this longing to be complete in Christ: “Swing wide the glimmering gates,” by Andrew Osenga, who is a member of Caedmon’s Call (but this song is a solo work). He says:

“one day I believe
I will open up my eyes
to see the good work that was begun
and I’ll be the only things I’ve ever wanted
to be
and I’ll know that I belong”

I believe this is what it means when the Lord promises to write his law in our hearts. We will be his from the inside out and his work will be completed in us. This is my hope for the coming year, that I’ll be more completely what God wants me to be. I pray that is your hope, too.

Eutychus
Leave a Reply

