Shaped by God’s Word

Psalm 119:1-8

When I was growing up, my youngest brother looked up to me. He followed me around, he liked the TV shows I liked, he played pretend with me and followed my lead. We are still close and like a lot of the same books and movies. Several years ago he told me that when we were kids he even tried to emulate my handwriting. This was not such a good thing since my handwriting was atrocious (and still is). I feel bad that in at least that area, I wasn’t such a good influence. I think most of us can relate to the experience of either looking up to someone and wanting to be like that person, or being the person someone looks up to. But as humans, we’re far from perfect and can (often unintentionally) lead someone astray — or least into very poor penmanship.

But there is one model we are given that won’t lead us astray. In fact, it will mold and shape us into the kinds of people God intends us to be. The first three verses of Psalm 119 say:

Blessed are those whose way is blameless,
who walk in the law of the Lord!
Blessed are those who keep his testimonies,
who seek him with their whole heart,
who also do no wrong,
but walk in his ways! (Ps. 119:1-3 ESV)

The Hebrew word we translate as “keep” carries the idea of paying close attention, or treasuring. If we give close attention to God’s word, if we treasurer it, if we seek him, he will not lead us astray. Instead, he will give wise guidance and we will find our way in his ways.

All of Psalm 119 is a celebration of God’s Word and a reminder to us of the importance of being immersed in his Word. I plan to spend more time in Psalm 119, as a start to learning to walk more closely in God’s ways. I hope this year you, too, will treasure God’s Word and walk more closely with him.

~ Eutychus
Leave a Reply

