Reminders of eternity

I usually live very much in the present. I reflect on the past and dream about the future, but most of the time I’m preoccupied with what’s going on right now. And though I believe in God’s promise of eternal life, I don’t think about it much. But once in a while, I’m reminded.

Today I learned that a dear old saint in our church has died. I don’t know the details, but I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that Daisy went to sleep and never woke up — or rather, she woke up with Jesus. One minute she’s dozing over her paper, the next she’s hearing “Well done, my good and faithful servant.” And Daisy was a faithful servant of her Lord. She was quite elderly and didn’t get out a lot, but she cut out articles from our local paper about the kids in the church so our youth leaders could post them on the bulletin board. She always asked about our grown children and I know that a lot of kids from our church have been prayed for because of this dear woman. Daisy never married, but she loved her nieces and nephews and the children of her church family. She leaves a legacy of faith and service that puts me to shame.

Here’s another reminder: A few weeks ago my parents made a trip to Tennessee to visit some of my dad’s family there. They went up country to see my dad’s oldest half-brother, Uncle Avon, who’s 87 and dying of cancer. His son and daughter-in-law have come to live with him and look after him and he seems to be doing pretty well most of the time. Mom said they have a baby monitor back in his room (but he’s unaware of it), so they can here if he needs them. Mom said when they got to Uncle Avon’s house, before he knew they were there, they heard him singing old hymns to himself. His son says he does that most of the time these days. It’s pretty clear he’s living more in the next world than in this.

So much of the time I act as if my present problems and pleasures are all there is to life, but I know better. I’m thankful for Daisy and Uncle Avon for reminding me of that.

Leave a Reply

